Recipe: Black Bean & Quinoa Salad

I have been in a cooking mood these past few weeks and it may have to do with all the fresh produce coming back into season in our local area! So I sort of stumbled across this recipe and having all the ingredients in my refrigerator, I decided to give it a try for dinner. My hubby gave it an A-, which he said is the best I’ll ever get out of him for my vegetarian cooking. I’ll take what I can get 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup cooked quinoa
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 large onion, chopped
  • 3/4cup corn
  • 15 oz black beans
  • 1 pint of cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • Juice of 2-3 limes
  • 4 oz crumbled feta cheese
  • 1/3 cup fresh cilantro

Directions:

  1. Heat olive oil in a large skiller. Add the onion and cook until soft and brown.
  2. Add the corn and cook for 2 minutes., then add the black beans and cook until heated through.
  3. Transfer to a large bowl.
  4. Add in the cooked quinoa, tomatoes, cumin, chili powder and lime juice.
  5. Stir in the feta cheese and the cilantro and season to taste with salt and fresh pepper.

quinoa

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Black Bean & Quinoa Salad

  1. Pingback: October: Let’s Rock the Veggies! | a simple life

  2. Pingback: Happy 5th Birthday, Blog! | Katherine Smith, a place of passion & love

Leave a comment