29 Signs You Were Raised By Hippies

peacesI came across this cute post about ways to tell you were raised by hippies and while I really wouldn’t classify my parents as hippies, they were definitely more of the earthy type. I was raised in a very real setting where the outdoors, gardening and natural living were important parts of my childhood.

I’m surprised how many of these “signs” my parents actually did with us! And some of these were complete NO’s for my parents – smoking, nudity, gods, etc. – they aren’t exactly the liberal type. And there are many on here I hope to do with my own children, giving them a similar upbringing that I had. Read the full article: 29 Signs You Were Raised By Hippies >>

Here are some of the signs that had me thinking of my parents right away!

#3)  You wore cloth diapers.I think this was more common back in the 80’s but my mom used cloth diapers with all five her children.

#4) Your parents gave a lot of positive affirmations and hugs.Which tended to freak out your friends.My parents were never ones to shy away from physical affection and our house was full of love, hugs and kisses.

#5) As did your family’s environmentally conscious flushing policy.This one makes me laugh because we had a “If it’s yellow, let it mellow” policy because we have a septic tank which my father didn’t want to over-fill with waste with every flush. And we had 7 people using just one bathroom – you do the math!

#9) You never had any idea what any of your classmates were talking about because you didn’t have television.While we did have a tv, it was hardly ever on. My mom only allowed 1 hr of tv a day and we never had cable. And yet I didn’t feel like I was missing anything by not watching the latest “cool” show.

#10) You had no choice but to wear hand-me-down and handmade clothing, often tie-dyed. My twin sister and I had all of my older sister’s hand-me-downs and my mom made a large amount of our clothes, especially for family vacations. I love looking through family photos and we are all dressed alike in homemade outfits!

#11) You weren’t allowed to alter your body’s natural hair and eau.We were never allowed to dye or highlight our hair, no matter how much I begged my mom.  She always said that God gave me the exact hair color I was intended to have.

#12) You obviously weren’t allowed to have processed foods or soda.We were not the junk-food eaters. The majority of our food came right from our garden and pop was never drunk in our house unless it was a special occasion, like a birthday.

#25) They’ve gardened organically and raised chickens and composted for decades. They washed out plastic bags before “green” was a thing.While we never had animals, we did have a garden every summer and my dad still composts everything. I used to hate having to run our vegetable/fruit scraps back to the compost pile – it was at the very back of our property and quite a far walk!

#26) On the rare occasion that your family ate out, they brought along yogurt tubs to take home leftovers. Now they use that reusable cling wrap that looks like a shower cap.My grandma still uses these caps for storing food. I didn’t know this was a real thing, haha!

#28) Sometimes you dreamed of rebelling…but ultimately you’ve realized you are too much like them.This couldn’t be more true. I felt like I went through a “stage” in college where I wanted to explore everything they would never let me do (like dying my hair, tanning, wearing make-up, etc.) and it took me a few years to realize how right they got it. And I thank them all the time for the way they raised me!

#29) You are always grateful that your parents taught you to love yourself for who you are…and to be the change you want to see in the world.My parents did such an amazing job raising me to be a strong, confident woman. I’ve never second guessed myself and I have always looked for my higher purpose, to make real changes in this world. 

happiness

Leave a Reply

