Our Adventures in Michigan

It’s Sunday evening at home and I am gearing up for a new week with laundry, grocery shopping, cleaning and reviewing our calendar. We just saw my husband off on another airplane, this time west to Boise for the week. I can’t help feel a little wistful that my vacation is officially coming to an end. Reality begins again very early tomorrow morning and I’m left to face it by myself.

My family just returned from a week in Michigan, enjoying the adventures that “America’s High Five” has to offer. It was blissful, relaxing, peaceful and yet energizing, rejuvenating, inspiring all at the same time. It was perfect. I didn’t want to leave.

We visited Grand Rapids and Saugatuck the first couple of days then drove up to the Upper Peninsula and spent the rest of the week in a cabin on Fisher Lake in Glen Arbor that belongs to a family member of my husband’s. There are so many lakes and bays in this whole area, making the water visible and accessible from pretty much any where you go. Every turn of the road offers a new breathtaking view of the blue, crystal clear lake and I couldn’t get enough of it. Every town is a coastal town, giving the trip a very nautical, seaside feel and I fell in love with the entire vacation. What is it about water that automatically relaxes me? We must go back.

We explored Glen Arbor and Glen Haven, spent time in Leland, a historic fishing town, and Traverse City, one of the larger cities in the area. We didn’t watch a single minute of t.v. and it was truly amazing. The air was so crisp and clear and my kids thrived being outdoors all day long for an entire week. We went boating, kayaking, biking, canoeing and swimming. We played on the beach and visited the Sleeping Bear Dunes National Park. We went on hikes and read books on a hammock next to the lake. We ate lots of local sea food and not nearly enough ice cream. We shopped at local galleries, artisan shops and vendors. We shopped at a apothecary shop and a lavender oil and soap company that was incredibly inspiring and amazing. We visited museums and historical landmarks. We made a quick stop on the way home in Frankenmuth and were completely overwhelmed by Bronner’s.

It was perfect. I didn’t want to leave. We must go back.

Leave a Reply

