Anxious? Look to the Birds.

bird4Today on lunch I had to swing by the bank and when I was waiting in the drive-thru in my car with my windows down, I heard the sweet sound of birds chirping their little hearts out. I noticed a large bird’s nest tucked in the corner of the overhang with four small baby birds sitting in a row. With their little beaks hanging open, they were obviously hungry and the Mama was flying back and forth with food, dropping tiny pieces into each of their waiting mouths.

I sat there for the 3-4 minutes it took to get my deposit back, watching this Mama bird fly to and fro to provide for her four babies with the smallest pieces of food. One of my favorite Scriptures popped into my head, a gentle reminder for the start of a new week:

“For this reason I say to you, do not be worried about your life, as to what you will eat or what you will drink; nor for your body, as to what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air, that they do not sow, nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not worth much more than they? And who of you by being worried can add a single hour to his life? And why are you worried about clothing? You of little faith! Do not worry then, saying, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What will we drink?’ or ‘What will we wear for clothing?’ For the Gentiles eagerly seek all these things; for your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things.”
–Matthew 6:25-32

Our heavenly Father knows that you needs these things. Above our own earthly wants and desires, He knows exactly what we need. We all carry baggage with us through life, things that worry us, things that stress us out. Anxiety, worry, stress is a waste of our heart beats because it won’t add a second to our lives. This I know too well – I love being in control and I’ve spent too much time being stressed out and worried over things out of my control. And for what? Anxiety changes nothing but adds wrinkles to my face and worry to my heart.

I love this.

A bird. A small, inconsequential bird will not go hungry, nor will we. When life seems so hard and things get really messy, it’s easy to forget that God provides for each of the smallest of birds and He WILL provide for us. What trust we must have in Him that He will never abandon us in our need. We are worth it and He is with us.

birds

Leave a Reply

