Recipe: Homemade Strawberry Jam

photo 3Last night I tried my very first attempt at cooking and canning my own strawberry jam. I’ve been wanting to try it for some time now and my sister had success with this recipe, so I figured I’d better do it soon before strawberries are out of season for good.

I was surprised how easy and quick this recipe was. I’m sure there are ways to modify and personalize this recipe but for my first attempt and not knowing what I was doing, I wasn’t going to do anything risky. But I love knowing what exactly is inside of my food and this has 3 simple ingredients, of which can be done in a health way with local/organic strawberries and natural sugar. This jam takes 24-hours to set so I won’t know until later tonight the results but just tasting the syrup yesterday, it was delicious!

Ingredients:

  • 4 pints of strawberries
  • 7 cups of sugar
  • 1 pack of pectin
  • 6 one-pint canning jars

Directions:

  1. CAN PREPARATION: Place the 6 canning jars in a 9×13″ cake pan with the openings facing down. Add 1″ of water to the pan and place in oven at 175* while you are making the jam. The jars need to be heated to avoid cracking when placing the boiling jam into them. Add the 6 jar lids to a sauce pan on the stove with enough water to cover the lids. Add low heat to warm these too but do not bring to a boil.
  2. Chop, stem and crush strawberries.
  3. Portion out 7 cups of sugar and have ready.
  4. Add crushed strawberries and dry pectin to a large stove-top pot.
  5. Stir continuously to avoid burning. Bring strawberries and pectin to a rolling boil.
  6. Quickly add all sugar to pot.
  7. Continue stirring and bring everything to a rolling boil. Let boil for 1 minute.
  8. Portion the jam into the warm jars and seal lids tightly.
  9. Let jam sit out at room temperature for 24 hours to set and cool.
  10. Enjoy on toast, bagels, ice cream sundaes or by the spoonfuls šŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

