Worship Through Motherhood

i miss himMy husband comes home tomorrow from a week-long business trip from Florida (yay!!) and I’ve been counting down since the minute he left last week. He tends to travel more frequently for work during the spring and summer seasons due to the nature of working for a greenhouse and has been gone 2 out of the last 4 weeks, with August looking to be even busier. We have a vacation booked for September and I. cannot. wait.

It’s hard being a single mom. Seriously, how do women do it? It’s also hard being a stay-at-home mom and being a working mom. In fact, it’s really hard just being a mom (can I get an Amen?). Anyone woman who has taken on this calling knows this too well.

And so, I have found that it’s easy to slip into a “woe-is-me” attitude when my husband travels or works 7 days a week because like any mom, I am doing so many different things and I’m now doing them all by myself. It’s easy to feel lonely, exhausted, defeated and to irrationally blame my husband for every little thing that goes wrong while he’s gone. I sometimes think, how am I going to survive this time?

But what good do all these negative thoughts and feelings do anyone? They just make me grumpy and left feeling like I’m being ungrateful.

Laying Down of Self

“She is clothed with strength and dignity.” ~Proverbs 31:25

Everyone needs time to refocus and gain perspective. There are moments in my day when I pause and say a quick prayer. Maybe it’s for patience and strength or for the right words to communicate to my kids. Or maybe it’s just to feel that God is with me and to remind myself that I’m never alone. Most often it’s a thankful prayer that I have two beautiful, healthy children that I get to spend most of my time raising – the most cherished thing in my life.

So…I have made a decision that mothering is my worship to Him. Laying down of the self and delighting in them, just as God delights in me. In their laughter and happiness. In their smiles and tears. In the every day little moments, the restful naps and the crazy dance parties. Being a mother is sometimes challenging but always a blessing.

Sure, the daily duties of being a mother seem mundane and unglamorous. Diapers, laundry, errands, tantrums and spit-up – where is the worship in all of this? But it’s there, with every diaper I change and boo-boo I kiss. Worship isn’t done just in a church, but through our daily journey. It is praise, obedience, trust, repentance and sacrifice, and motherhood is full of these things when I focus on God.

I truly believe that God is going to do great things through me to mold and shape my children if I let Him to work through me. What better way to express my love and adoration for our amazing God than to praise Him through the most important calling He has given me?! Just as God loves me unconditionally and perfectly, I can honor Him by trying to love my kids in the same way.

There is failure. God lets us stumble and struggle, and He wants to use our failings to draw nearer to Him. To lay our motherhood before Him and trust in Him. No day goes perfectly and heartbreak comes with the territory.

Yes, it is messy and sloppy sometimes. Yet, there’s forgiveness and grace and growth.

“Children are a gift from the Lord; they are a reward from Him.” ~Psalm 127:3

 

Leave a Reply

