The Cliches of Motherhood

You try to prepare yourselves as best as you can before parenthood arrives, taking classes, reading books, talking to friends…but nothing can fully prepare you more than actually becoming a parent. I realized rather quickly on in motherhood a few years back that pretty much all of the cliches about being a mother/parent that I heard before having my kids are true.

  • It’s the hardest and most frustrating but most rewarding job you’ll ever do.
  • Say goodbye to a peaceful night’s sleep.
  • Get use to having snot, food and other bodily fluids on your clothes.
  • Your free time really isn’t yours anymore.
  • You’re happy to even have time for a shower in your day.
  • You forget to eat throughout the day and you’re lucky if you can even pee without an interruption.
  • You will find yourself saying the exact things your parents told you when you were young.
  • You will run out of energy before your kids run out of energy.

And this cliche is also true – you will love every one of your children the same but in different ways because they are each different people.  I was so anxious when I was pregnant with my son – how can I possibly love another baby as much as I love my daughter? I almost felt like I was cheating on my daughter and I was an emotional wreck. But wait, no. The minute I saw each of their faces, I knew I would love them every second of my life. All the worry was in vain and for nothing. That’s the great thing about love – as a parent, I can’t possibly ever run out of it. It never dries up and I never tiring from loving my kids. If anything, my heart has only grown, our lives have only made more room for all the love.

My Sweet Angel Love

My daughter is my best friend, my side kick, my partner. Being my oldest and first-born, I have a soft spot in my heart for her. We had so many “firsts” together and for almost 2 years, she was all I had known. As a preschooler now, she is her own person with her own thoughts. She has a wild sense of humor and she loves telling stories. She is fiercely independent and yet loves to be babied. She loves reading and painting and imagining. She rides her bikes and loves gymnastics class and swimming. She has such a huge heart and can be so generous and compassionate. She loves going to church and singing songs to her dolls. She yearns to be around people and commands the attention in pretty much any room. Charismatic, entrancing and charming, she is destined for something great. Yet she is stubborn and defiant and can be the most frustrating little human ever. But then she wraps her tiny arms around my neck and says, “Mommy, it’ll be ok because I love you. You are my best mommy.” And my heart melts.

My Boo Boo Bear

My son is MY son through and through. A mama’s boy to the core, he’s the little love of my life. He’s the happiest little boy and loves to be held and kissed. He tends to have one arm down the front of my shirt at all times and is trouble with a capital T. He loves playing hide-and-seek and can eat his weight in corn-on-the-cob and strawberries. He is a snuggler, a kid who has to be sleeping touching my face and his arm around my neck. He loves birds and smelling flowers and often spends an hour by himself, so content and in his own little world. He is Mr. Adventure – anything that can be climbed, opened, jumped off of or crawled under, you better believe he will try it. I swear he feels little to no pain, taking bumps and bruises with a smile and keep trucking along. Observer, quiet and watching, he is destined for something great.  Yet can be the most stubborn and challenging little human ever and then he hugs me tight and says , “Mommy. Mommy. Mommy! Kiss.” And my heart melts.

Ah, sweet motherhood.

One thought on “The Cliches of Motherhood

Leave a Reply

