Fearfully and Wonderfully Made

psalm-139I was reading last night before bed as I usually do, and part of my devotion for yesterday was this scripture from Psalm that rooted in my heart.

“For You formed my inward parts; You wove me in my mother’s womb. I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are Your works, And my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from You, When I was made in secret, And skillfully wrought in the depths of the earth. Your eyes have seen my unformed substance. And in Your book were all written
the days that were ordained for me, when as yet there was not one of them.”
-Psalm 139:13-16

“I am fearfully and wonderfully made.” How beautifully is that!?  “And in Your book were all written the days that were ordained for me.”  What purpose and plans God has for us! We were created on purpose with a purpose by from God’s own heart and mind.

King David, a man after God’s own heart, had such a deep, eloquent way with words and his Psalms are some of my favorite scriptures to read. I went to bed feeling complete. Worthy. Enough. Fulfilled. Valued.

This morning I read this powerful blog on my favorite, The Matt Walsh Blog, “There is no such thing as a pro-choice Christian” and it exactly reinforced my feelings – God created each and every one of us with purpose. Creating us before we were even a thought in our own parents’ minds. Having a plan for us before our own parents had a plan for us. Counting our days before we even lived our first day on earth.

Babies – people – human beings – are not globs of cells, fetuses or embryos, as many pro-baby-killing people like to deduced us to. We are souls. We are beings. We are created in God’s own image. GOD’S OWN IMAGE.  There are things in each of us that reflect God, that shine God’s everlasting love for us into this world. Our God is not a clumsy God and he makes no accidents – we are His masterpieces and there is a plan for each of us. This all may sound cliche and some like to call this destiny, fate or some other earthly force, but when we turn our hearts to God, we know it is Him working in our lives, talking to our hearts, guiding us to reach His plan.

He knows the depths of our hearts and loves us the same. Such hope and comfort – what a great God we worship!

Happy Friday, friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

