Snow Day Recipe: Salt Dough

salt-dough-ctaToday was my favorite kind of day. With the frigid temperatures (Cleveland’s high was 3* today), the kids and I spend the morning warm and toasty away from the cold. I knew ahead of time that it was going to be a long day inside, so I woke up this morning determined to have lots of activities ready to avoid the inevitable cabin fever syndrome (which we seem to be reaching now at 7:30pm).

We started off making a Valentine’s Day garland decoration for the kitchen window with everyone’s name on it. My daughter helped decorate the heart cut-outs with markers, paint, crayons and stickers. Her favorite part was using the hole punch on each of the hearts and she was so patient while stringing the hearts – great fine motor skills practice! Such a simple but sweet project.

After Sesame Street, we moved onto salt dough and I found this super easy recipe with 3 simple ingredients that every kitchen is sure to have. The best part is it’s a really safe, non-toxic mixture that if your kid ingests, which my 1-year old did, there’s no worries. Both my kid enjoyed making all kinds of shapes with the dough and I tried explaining numerous times to my daughter that these weren’t cookies but things that we could paint and decorate because they turn hard has they bake.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of salt
  • 2 cups of flour
  • 1 cup of water

Directions: Mix all ingredients together and form shapes. Line cookie sheet with aluminum foil and bake shapes at 250* for 2.5 hours. Let cool all the way so they have a chance to harden completely before decorating with paint, glitter, etc. I would recommend an acrylic paint but since my art supplies are in storage, all we had to use were my kids’ washable paints, which are a bit watery – not the best paint to use but it worked. Enjoy!

sat-dough

Leave a Reply

