Letting go of control for something better.

let-go-et-godDo you ever have a moment in your day that feels like it was meant just for you? Like God is saying, “hey you, pay attention to this” and you have no choice but to pause and absorb?

Today’s worship message at church couldn’t have hit closer to home: letting go of control of your life and giving it up to God because his plans for you are higher and better than anything you can even imagine possible. And if I haven’t mentioned it, I have been a slightly overly OCD perfectionist in many areas of my life.

Letting go over control. How challenging is that? I’m not talking about a whimsical, cliche idea of letting control of your life to some random destiny or being free from your own mind. I’m talking about real trust. Truly believing in God’s strength and love and absolutely letting him guide your life. Giving up your anxieties and worries and stresses to him and knowing he will put you exactly where he wants you. Nothing is too huge or too tiny to matter to God and he wants all of it from you.

“For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper and not harm you, to give you a future and a hope.” –Jeremiah 29:11

Here’s the thing…I like knowing what’s going to happen. I am a mother of 2 toddlers who tries to keep our household running and somewhat functional. I am a person of details – it’s what I do for a living and I’m good at it. I like planning, making to-do lists, getting things done and crossing them off my list. I like making goals and coming up with an actionable plan. But all of this is in vain because the worldly plans and ideas I come up in my head don’t align with what I should be doing according to God’s plans.

Not only does God have a plan for my life, he ALWAYS delivers on his promises. Always. He has not and will not fail me and his truth will always be true. The thing about letting go of control  to God is it has to be a deliberate decision. I need to choose every day to place my trust in him, no one is going to do that for me. It’s not some magically random happening; it’s choosing to live out my faith daily.

So as I am gearing up for a brand new week, I am focusing on loosening my iron-clad grip on controlling every little detail in my life and offering it up to God and I know only great things are in store from him!

One thought on “Letting go of control for something better.

  1. Pingback: Happy 5th Birthday, Blog! | Katherine Smith, a place of passion & love

Leave a Reply

