Life will never make sense.

I haven’t been completely oblivious that my tone over the past week or so has shifted and much of my posts have focused about abortion and my pro-life stances. Here’s why…

forgodI definitely would never call myself a political person, by any means. I usually leave that up to my twin sister, who is an attorney. She has always been the combative arguer who can tear your logic to pieces like a pit bull. Like most opposition, I never stand a chance against her. She can literally talk me into anything (and has done so, on occasion. Cleveland Marathon, anyone?). Me, I am usually the peace-keeper, the sensitive artsy one who regularly cries during every episode of “Parenthood” and just wants us all to get along.

I have come to realize…while I am passionate about the earth and protecting our environment and this has been much of my focus on this blog, it’s not everything to me. I love nature and appreciate the beneficial effects it has on us, and my family and I are continuously looking for ways to make changes in our lives to reflect this passion, to be more responsible consumers and focus on simple, healthy living and wellness. I enjoy sharing my discoveries and projects but all of this is just a lifestyle choice for me. It’s how I choose to live each day and this awareness affects our daily decisions and intentions. It’s not who I am.

Here’s the thing…the root of who I am is a Christian. But even more simplified, a believer in Jesus as my Savior, a man who loves me so much and so unconditionally that he died on a cross to save ME. It’s personal and intimate. It’s at the core of my being and the source of my identity. It’s the reason for my living and provides my life with purpose and meaning. Nothing else will ever make sense without this belief and everything I do is for the glory of God. This might label me as a “Jesus Freak” but that’s only because it makes others uncomfortable. But that doesn’t make any difference to me because it won’t change my ways or the fact that I have a voice. We are called to spread the Good News to the four corners of the earth and back and there’s nothing political about it.

Here’s the other thing…issues like abortion and defending murdered babies are NOT political, they’re moral. The act of killing a person is not a political issue you vote on every November or May. You may be thinking, there are so many injustices in this world, issues that need attention, people that need help…why abortion? I’ll tell you why: life.

Life is the most precious gift God gives each of us each new day and sweet BABIES are robbed of this. Babies who are defenseless, innocent souls and yet they are treated as disposable trash thrown in the dumpster. Abortion, by it’s very definition, is anti-life and is fighting to bring down the best blessing God has given us besides our salvation. People are so eager to scientifically degrade the miracle life into a clump of tissues or an inconvenient greedy parasite, but these man-made terms are created selfishly in vain and they don’t hold up in this world or the next. It is inarguably the biggest, most cruel crime against humanity. Literally nothing can be condemned if you are pro-baby-killing. Poverty? Slavery? Genocide? Literally nothing is wrong if killing an unborn child is right.

Now is not the time to be silent or embarrassed. God will ask me one day what I’ve done with my life and talents and I refuse to sit on the side lines of my own life watching years pass me by without at least trying to fight and be a voice.

baby

One thought on “Life will never make sense.

  1. Pingback: Happy 5th Birthday, Blog! | Katherine Smith, a place of passion & love

Leave a Reply

