It seems to me clear as daylight that abortion should be a crime.

“It seems to me clear as daylight that abortion would be a crime.” –Gandhi

January is National Right to Life month and being strongly pro-life is something I have always been passionate about. This topic goes way, way beyond who’s sitting on the left or right. While I’m not usually politically vocal, I have never been one to shy away from my beliefs in Jesus as my savior, the truth of the Bible, and how these truths are my moral compass and reason for living. So this writing today comes from a place of love and protecting something I believe in so much – cherishing life.

Pregnant Woman on Life Support

If you haven’t read or heard about this story, here’s a simplified summary – a women in Texas who was 14 weeks pregnant collapsed in her home with a blood clot in her lungs. CPR was administered on the spot and while she is currently in a vegetative state, her baby had a heart beat when they arrived at the hospital so the doctors put her on life support to support the life of the baby, complying with strict Texas law. She did have a verbal DNR relayed by her husband, but not specified while she was pregnant, and there’s been outcry about the lack of respect for her choices.

I saw one of my liberal friends who doesn’t have any children on Facebook post this article with a snarky comment of “This is what pro-life America looks like.”

Medically assessments and legalities aside, as a mother of two young children and someone who has experienced the loss and grief of multiple miscarriages, I can only speak form a mother’s perspective that I would absolutely sacrifice anything for my unborn child. Anything. While I wouldn’t want to be kept alive on life support, I also know that it would be my dying wish to give my unborn child life if it was within my power and I would be completely disappointed/devastated with my husband if he didn’t fully understand the depth of my sacrifice for my children.

Now…I understand that it’s a way more complicated, complex situation that involves the mother possibly being brain dead and science being too involved by keeping her alive. And I can’t even imagine what her husband and family are going through. But my point is – Texas is doing everything they can to protect this baby…and that’s exactly the way it should be. Maybe science is going too far and maybe not…but at least the doctors who took an oath to protect life are trying to save an unborn life and they value that human soul.

“I’ve noticed that everyone who is for abortion has already been born.”
–Ronald Reagan

A Disposable Society

Today, we are living in a country where millions of people really do think it’s okay, acceptable, even the norm to murder a million unborn babies a year. One million children dead. It is literally bringing tears to my eyes just thinking about it. How can we condemn such human atrocities going on around the world and not protect our own children, the most vulnerable, powerless victims? Why isn’t this called the U.S. Baby Genocide?

Growing up in private Christian schools my entire life, we are taught from day one to respect life, from conception to death. It’s really as simple as that. An unborn baby may be scientifically referred to as a fetus but from the moment of conception, it has a soul created in the image of God. It’s a human life and we have no place playing God.

“It’s alright all of us all living saying ‘oh well there’s enough of us so we won’t have anymore, don’t let anybody else live.’ I don’t believe in that.” –John Lennon

One arguments is that it’s the woman’s body so it’s her choice what to do with it. If a woman wants to kill her unborn child, the government will pay for it. If a person were to murder that same woman and unborn child, he is charged with a double homicide. Double. As in, taking 2 lives. The state recognizes that baby as a life only when someone else, besides the mother, murders it. But if the mother wants it dead, it’s not only ok but we all pay for it…I am failing to see the logic in all of this.

We are living in a country that is doing everything we can to remove all bad or inconvenient consequences from our actions and lives so we can go on living carefree and without consequences with our egocentric lives. We are quickly becoming a disposable, self-absorbed society that when something breaks or you don’t want it, just throw it out and this is so sad and unfortunate.

Life is not negotiable. Life is not a choice. Life cannot be comprised. If we comprise on life, what do we have left in this world? This world won’t get any better by people keeping their mouths shut on such devastating injustices.

“The care of human life and happiness, and not their destruction, is the first and only object of good government.” –Thomas Jefferson

RESOURCES:

5 thoughts on “It seems to me clear as daylight that abortion should be a crime.

  1. Since you are a Christian….

    Romans 14:1-13
    As for the one who is weak in faith, welcome him, but not to quarrel over opinions. One person believes he may eat anything, while the weak person eats only vegetables. Let not the one who eats despise the one who abstains, and let not the one who abstains pass judgment on the one who eats, for God has welcomed him. Who are you to pass judgment on the servant of another? It is before his own master that he stands or falls. And he will be upheld, for the Lord is able to make him stand. One person esteems one day as better than another, while another esteems all days alike. Each one should be fully convinced in his own mind.

    • “Truly children are a gift from the Lord; the fruit of the womb is a reward” –Psalm 127:3

      Thank you for this wonderful scripture, I am familiar with it and couldn’t agree more! Who am I to judge anyone? I will be the first to stand and say I am a sinner who needs God’s forgiveness. We will each stand before God on our last day and be held accountable for what we did in our life – both the good things and the bad.

      I try to approach everything in my life from a place of love and acceptance and I am not here to attack or judge anyone. It’s from a deep love of babies, children, people, humans that I even care so much to stand up and protect the sanctity of life. I am not condoning hate or violence or judgement; I am doing the opposite: I am making the case for justice and love and life.

      But does this mean that I am not allowed to have moral standards that I believe our society should live up to? Especially when it concerns something so sacred as human life? Life is the ultimate gift for us to defend and 50 million lives have been lost to abortion. This is a societal problem that needs to be fixed that goes way beyond politics but into the hearts of the women who are making this decision. 50 million people dead. That’s not ok…by pretty much anyone’s standards, not just a Christian.

      Thanks for reading and sharing this verse.

      • But again you are judging others decisions. You said yourself that because you do not deem it ok to have an abortion and you feel as though unborn children are living humans and not parts of a human body instead as some view them, and others around you feel this way then so it should be. Kind of like that old tale out mothers said of “if he jumped off a bridge would you too”. Those are your standards and choices. God will decide who is a sinner and who has morals not us. By posting things like this that judgement fuels others to treat people as unequal or as murderers and such because they see you are doing so in the name of God. That is not for you or them to do. God is judge. To say we can make his decisions is to take his name in vain claiming we are godly. Live your life kindly and help others is what God wants and says. You seem like someone who wants to do that. But do not tell others how they must live and be, that is judgement not help. You can share stories without dictation and judgement. It’s sad to read this and think of those that may hurt by your words as much as those you feel are hurting you with their actions. “Do onto others”.

  2. Pingback: Happy 5th Birthday, Blog! | Katherine Smith, a place of passion & love

Leave a Reply

