Blackfish: Save the Whales

“The greatness of a nation can be determined by the way it treats its animals.” –Mahatma Gandhi

blackfish-coverLast night we watched such an incredible documentary on Netflix called “Blackfish” and even today, I cannot get those abused captive orca whales out of my head.  I’m not going to try and paraphrase or highlight the movie because I know I won’t do it justice but it was a MUST-SEE. Seriously.

My husband and I are slightly infatuated with whales (and chimpanzees…and elephants…). Whale Wars is a regular in our household and one of my favorite movies is Big Miracle (I want to be Drew Barrymore, an activist for GreenPeace). While I have no natural instincts when it comes to interacting with animals (hey, we’re talkng about getting a dog for our kids!), there’s something about helping these defenseless, beautiful, intelligent creatures that resonates with my soul. It’s one of the many reasons that Jane Goodall is such a role model and inspiration to me.

But I had no clue awful, awful things like this still go on in our country and I’m embarrassed that just this summer we patronized the Miami Seaquariam on our family vacation. It makes me sick to my stomach to know that we were contributing to this grotesque animal exploitation.

Looking for a way to help

After finishing the movie yesterday, we all kind of looked at each other and said, now what? How can we help these whales? It left us wanting to do more and I would guess that spreading awareness about this documentary and boycotting abusement parks around the nation are the first steps in educating the public and getting mainstream media against such cruelties.

I am sure, like me, so many people out there don’t even know this is going on. Also contributing to non-profits who are fighting against these types of animal cruelties would be a great idea. Our little family just adopted an elephant through Care for the Wild (there are so many poaching problems in Africa going on right now…but that’s a whole different story).

Resources for reading:

  • Blackfish – official movie site
  • Voice of the Orcas – non-profit organization setup by former SeaWorld trainers
  • Miami’s SeaPrison – info on their infamous Seaquarium
  • Care for the Wild – non-profit foundation helping protect animals in the wild from cruel captivity. They offer a few ways to help the cause, such as adopting an animal, making donations, fundraising and volunteering.

Watch the movie trailer:

One thought on “Blackfish: Save the Whales

  1. Pingback: Happy 5th Birthday, Blog! | Katherine Smith, a place of passion & love

Leave a Reply

