D.I.Y. All-Natural Heating Pad

CTA-HEATING-PADMy chiropractor advised me at our last appointment to use some heat on my upper back when I have a minute in my day to work on loosening the muscles around my shoulder blades because they are extremely tight. Not owning a heating pad, I knew immediately I didn’t want to buy an electric one.

I’ve heard of research that has linked exposure  to electromagnetic fields (EMFs) emitted by appliances like electric blankets, hairdryers, and electric heating pads can damage DNA in brain cells. There is also evidence EMFs can disrupt the internal body control system, increase the risk of cancer, and possibly weaken the immune system. And even if all this research hasn’t been 100% confirmed, why even take the risk?

So…I decided to take a stab at making my own version of a heating pad using a long sock, organic rice (I’d like to avoid heating up non-organic rice and placing it directly on my body with all those herbicides/pesticides/chemical leaching out of it), and a couple of drops of essential oils. Not only is this safe to use on your body, there are also no electrical/burning/fire hazards and you can reap the benefits of the wonderful essential oil you are using!

Ingredients:

  • 1 long sock
  • 32 oz of organic rice
  • 2-3 drops of essential oil

Directions:

Could this be any easier? Fill the sock with the rice. You can use a funnel in the opening of the sock to avoid a rice mess all over the counter. Once the sock is full, either tie a very tight knot at the top of the sock or even sew a quick seam across it to seal in the rice. Heat up the rice sock in the microwave for 1-1/2 minutes and place a few drops of your favorite essential oil on the sock before using. If you want a stiffer heating pad, use more rice. If you want it more flexible to place around your neck, use less rice.

If you are a freeze-baby like me, I took one of these with me to work to use as a hand/body warmer in the chilly office. My boss doesn’t like us using space heaters because of the fire hazard so this is a perfect solution!

One thought on “D.I.Y. All-Natural Heating Pad

Leave a Reply

