Eco-Product: Organic Deodorant Salve

It’s becoming pretty well-known how incredibly dangerous deodorant is for women’s health. While it’s officially “inconclusive,” there are so many studies linking breast cancer directly to our deodorant, particularly aluminum-based ones because aluminum is absorbed into our skin and causes estrogen-like side hormonal side-effects. Then estrogen has the ability to promote the growth of breast cancer cells, increasing the risk for women across the nation. On top of aluminum, there are also so many other nasty chemicals in our deodorants: TEA & DEA, triclosan, FD&C colors, talc, parabens and propylene glycol – I am constantly amazed what is legal for companies to sell to us!

That ever-wise dad of mine has been preaching all these things to me since I was a teenager but the reality is, no one wants to be the smelly person in the room. I have tried various off-brands of deodorants in the past, most recently the all-natural Crystal, and have even gone sans deodorant completely. But none of these have been the right fit to work with my body.

Chargrin Valley Soap & Salve

My friend turned me on to Chagrin Valley Soap & Salve after sitting in on a presentation they did at the Cleveland Botanical Garden’s “Ripe Fest” this summer and I was immediately intrigued. Why am I always pleasantly surprised when I find out about local companies in the Cleveland area doing such amazing things? They are definitely one of these companies.

deodorant

It’s a family owned and ran business that truly beliefs in organic, all-natural ingredients for the products we put on our bodies. Seriously. When I read the ingredients label for this deodorant salve, not only could I pronounce everything on it, I knew exactly what each ingredient was – how often does that happen?

On their website, they promise their products are:

  • free of detergents
  • free of synthetic fragrances
  • free of synthetic colors
  • free of artificial preservatives
  • free of artificial foam boosters
  • free of alcohol
  • free of petroleum products
  • free of synthetic additives
  • free of GMO’s
  • biodegradable
  • mild and nourishing
  • safe and effective

How exciting is all of that? And located right here in northeast Ohio! This is the first product of theirs I am trying so I will let you know in the next week or two what I think of it. I can already tell you that it smells so wonderfully natural 🙂

Deodorant Side Effect Resources:

Leave a Reply

