For the Mamas: Wonderful & Natural Relief

Ahhh! You. guys.

backAll the mamas and mamas-to-be out there, listen up!

After taking my kids to get their backs adjusted last week, I made myself an appointment to do the same. I went on my lunch break this afternoon to the Avon Lake Wellness Center to see Dr. Poyle and I cannot even begin to express how wonderful it was. I had been having constant dull pain in my upper back between my shoulder blade for a few months now and I usually get a massage every month or so to work out the knots, but they always seem to come right back in a couple of days.

Typical Mother’s Back

After a short examine, Dr. Poyle determined that it was a typical “mother’s back” from all the stresses on a mother’s back: bending down to pick up the kids or car seats, leaning over to nurse, change diapers, get them dressed, feed lunch, fold laundry, etc. It’s a constant, never-ending bending and picking-up and leaning over. And it’s only getting worse as my kids get bigger and heavier.

Then there’s the carrying of my kids. He could immediately that I carry my kids on the right side of my body. I carry my son, and before him my daughter, on my right hip always. While I do use a baby sling for shopping excursions and other activities, I don’t use it just around the house, which is where we spend most of our day. So my 22lb tank sits on my right hip all day long. Dr. Poyle said my right pelvic bone sat almost an inch lower than the left and the muscles and joints going up the right side of my body were crunched and tight.

The Natural Remedy

He started off with some heat stimulation to loosen the muscles and massage the nerves. It was wonderful. I could immediately feel relief and I found myself dozing off a bit under the heat and massaging. With my muscles and tendons loosened up, he did his adjustments: stretching my spin and neck, twist my hips and pelvis, cracking and pushing things back into place. It was wonderful.

There were no drugs or invasive procedures involved and as he was cracking and popping things back into place, I could feel the relief instantly. I am a tad bit sore, which is perfectly normal because he said I was extremely tight between my shoulder blades.  I am going back next week for a follow-up and I’m already looking forward to it.

He gave me this chart that shows how incredibly connected our major organs and body systems are to our spine and even the slightest thing out of wack can affect so many areas of the body and its functions.

So if you are a mama who is struggling with the same pains I have been, my first piece of advice would be to find a great family chiropractor to have your back adjusted. It was wonderful!

nerves

One thought on “For the Mamas: Wonderful & Natural Relief

  1. Pingback: Happy 5th Birthday, Blog! | Katherine Smith, a place of passion & love

Leave a Reply

