Moving Day: So Much Stuff

storage

One of our storage units, exploding at the seams

You. guys.

So much stuff. That’s all I have to say about these past 4 days. So much stuff.

Seriously. It was “Moving” weekend and this was the most exhausting weekend of my life, even more than having my babies. We literally moved out from the time we woke up until the time we went to bed for 4 straight days. Being the OCD person I am, I was slightly freaking out a bit throughout the whole process, not knowing where everything was going or where to find the things I may want in the future.

But then I took a deep breath and let it go: we have exactly what we need.

And I know I may sound like a broken record…but I’m so embarrassed over how much we really own and truly do not need or even use. Five years of accumulating possessions that do not add any value to our lives. I am all about purging, donating and living a peaceful, simple life…and this wasn’t very apparent when looking at all the boxes and furniture that consumed our multiple storage units.

My husband and I were talking the other night: we took the bare minimum of things with us (3 beds, 2 dressers, some food, a couple of toys and our toiletries), if we can live with just these things happily, functionally and successfully for the next 6 months, why can’t we live like this all the time?!

But now I’m excited…and motivated to get to work! He made a promise to let me really par down in our new home, to create a sustainable, simple and decluttered life. To go through each and every box and just keep the bare minimum. To not have a basement and garage full of things. I’m going to hold him to that and I sure hope he holds me to it as well. I could literally drown in this storage unit.

Yikes.

Read more about why Simple Living is so important to me…

Leave a Reply

