What on Earth am I Here For?

“Let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will know what God wants you to do.” 

warrenMy ever-wise parents gifted me a book for Christmas that I am just getting around to reading: “What on Earth am I Here For?” by Rick Warren. Feeling more lost that I have felt in my life for what my purpose is and what I should do next, I decided to pull it off the shelf and give it a try.  Expecting it to be a self-help book, I was pleasantly surprised when he started the book by saying this was anything but a self-help motivational book. Whew, that’s the last type of book I want to read.

The book is broken up into 40 daily chapters that takes the reader on a spiritual journey to discover our real purpose for being here. The Bible makes it clear that God considers 40 days a spiritually significant amount of time. Whenever God wanted to prepare someone for His purpose, He took 40 days to do so: Noah’s life on the ark, Moses’ transformation on Mt. Sinai, David preparing for Goliath’s challenge, Jesus empowered in the wilderness and the disciples waiting 40 days after Jesus’ resurrection. Setting us up to read one short chapter daily urges me to really absorb the information and think about the implications for my life.

“It is in Jesus that we find out who we are and what we are living for.”

Being only on Day #3 (so chapter 3), what I like already love about this book is it’s not meant to help us figure out superficial surface-level plans, like what career should we pursue, what hobbies we enjoy, what spouse or friends we should choose or how to be happy in life. This book goes much, much deeper into the actual reason I was put on this Earth. As in, God has a very specific purpose and plan for the reason I am living at this moment in this place. God does absolutely nothing by accident and leaves nothing to chance. He deliberately chose my race, the color of my skin, my hair and every other feature. He determined my natural talents and the uniqueness of my personality. So why did He create me?

I love that the very first chapter simple states: it’s not about me. Period. I can get so caught up in the me, me, me and what’s next for ME. But I was made by God and for God, and until I understand and accept this, life will never make sense.  The purpose of my life fits into a much larger, cosmic plan that God designed for eternity before He even created the world. He alone has planned in advanced all the days of my life: the exact time and place of my birth and my death.

“Long before He laid down earth’s foundations, He had us in mind, had settled on us as the focus of His love.”

How hopeful this is!  I am very much looking forward to this 40-day journey and keeping my heart open to His purpose for me. Stay tuned for more…

Leave a Reply

