A moment to breathe & catch up on life

My Family
Happy Friday! These past few weeks have felt so super busy and I haven’t had a moment of free time to even think. My little family spent last weekend down in Columbus, exploring the city, swimming, shopping and just spending time together – a nice weekend get-away from the normal daily grind. We are starting to working on potty-training my 2-year old – something I have been avoiding at all costs. But she is so incredibly smart that I know it’s time to tackle this dreaded task. My son has literally gotten in 5 new teeth of the past month…which mean zero sleep for this mama. He has been a miserable mess at night and finally, this past Wednesday, he slept from 9:30pm straight through the night until 8:30am. It was a wonderful and much-needed night of sleep for my whole family. This teething thing is for the birds, I tell ya!

My Photography
I’ve had 3 different photoshoots recently so many of my evenings after the kiddos are in bed are spent editing hundreds of pictures. I will have to post some final shots once the finishing touches are done. Some of these outtakes are turning out fantastic and I am so excited for them! I’m still not sure what my relationship with my camera is…I absolutely love taking and editing photos for fun for my family and friends. But I’m afraid I’m going to get burnt out rather quickly being a stay-at-home mom with a traveling husband and working part-time, then I feel like the only 2 hours of my day that I get to myself, I’m working into the wee hours of the morning. While I do love it, I’m not sure that’s where I want to invest my energy and free time in to. I’ve said since the beginning that I don’t want to make a career out of it and the first thing they told us in photography class was: “If you love photography, do NOT try and do this for a living. You will hate it.” Hmm.

My House
And we had an Open House this past week at our house, hoping to generate some foot traffic and second showings. My husband and I did a top-to-bottom scrub down of our home, which with two little ones, is quite the chore to make our house look spotless while still living in it. The problem is, our home has been on the market just about a month but we believe we have found “the home” and now we’re really anxious to get ours moving. It’s a beautiful piece of land that is wooded, quiet and private with a nice ranch that feels just right for our little family. I’ll just keep praying that God puts us where He wants us!

My Grandmother
My grandmother is doing a million times better – thank you God! My aunt from Toronto came down and stayed the week at my home while my grandma was recuperating and it was wonderful to re-connect with her. The past 4 weeks have been such a roller coaster. There were at least 3 different times where I honestly believe my grandma wasn’t going to make it. Especially when she contracted the same deadly infection that killed my grandfather earlier this spring. But, she kept on fighting and now she is actually out of the hospital and in a rehab center to work on getting stronger and mobile again. The power of prayer is amazing!

Whew, I’m just exhausted thinking about this past month! And I’d like to say August will be a bit quieter, but looking at my calendar, I’m afraid it’ll be even busier. Ah well, life is meant to be lived.

teething

Leave a Reply

