Herbs & Farmer’s Market Delights

I went with my mom to an herb cooking class earlier this summer, which inspired me to give my herb garden a face lift this year. This bad boy sits right outside my kitchen door – so convenient! This year I went with 5 herbs: basil, parsley, sage, oregano and chives – which seem to be the most common ones I use for cooking. Just adding a dash of them here and there can make a huge difference in the flavor of a simple dish (potatoes, anyone). I almost have too many to keep up…I can’t cook fast enough to use them all!

With the summer holiday, I’ve been doing lots of home cooking this weekend. We went shopping at the local farmer’s market in Brownhelm on the 4th of July to make a huge, healthy dinner and got some red potatoes, squash, zucchini, corn on the cob and some delicious caramel corn. We also visit my grandma who has a 5-acre farm that has millions of raspberry bushes. We spent the morning in the fields and my daughter thought it was the coolest thing to be out there picking away. The smell of real, fresh raspberries is the absolute best!
herbs

please ignore the plastic - the containers came from my grandma's house!

please ignore the plastic – the containers came from my grandma’s house!

Leave a Reply

