A Major Life Decision

My husband and I recently made a pretty major life decision – we put our house up for sale! We have been talking and looking at doing this for about a year and a half and this just felt like the right time in our lives to take on a new adventure. There’s always been something standing in our way – grad school, having two babies, coaching, new careers, etc. – and with our summer wide open, we know we want to do what’s best for our growing family.

Our Current Situation

houseWe built our home in a development when we got married 5 years ago, so it’s a relatively new house in great condition. It’s not that I’m unhappy where we are now – I’m really not. If I had to stay there for years, I know it’s a great place to raise a family and it suites our needs. If it never sells, that’s totally ok and I will continue making it our home.  I’d call myself restless there…or maybe a bit unfulfilled. Since it was built by a cookie-cutter builder, there isn’t much originality or great quality to our home and I have a list a mile long of things I would already like to replace and/or change about it.

Then there’s our current plot of land. We actually paid an “upgrade” fee back when we built to secure one of the larger plots on our street…a whopping 0.18 acres! Thinking back on it, I can’t believe how much we thought this was a deal. Our very tiny postage-stamp of a yard hardly provides any room for the things I want for us – like a garden, lush greenery, privacy and natural play areas. I have been feeling very claustrophobic, like I can’t breath being in the city right on top of everyone else, and with my oldest already being 2 years-old, I knew I wanted to make a move and make it soon.

What We’re Looking For

I grew up in a rural area on a decent size piece of land, so I understand the value of my childhood experiences in this type of environment. It’s really made me who I am today. So my one criteria is that our new home is a bit wooded – not a bare, empty piece of farmland. My daughter is a tom-boy, a free spirit, and she absolutely loves exploring and adventures and I want to provide my children with a natural childhood, full of wonder, curiosity, and respect for nature and animals. I want them to have a connection with the earth, to know where their food comes from, to run barefooted and free, to give as much back to the earth as they take. Needless to say, I am so excited for what is in store these next couple of years.

Simplify.  I’m loving it!

simplify-life

One thought on “A Major Life Decision

  1. Pingback: Exciting news about our house! | a simple life

Leave a Reply

