3 Simple Changes for Zero Waste Living

I decided to push our home towards my “zero waste” goal and began with 3 simple changes that really aren’t a huge deal but I’ve come to understand every little bit builds towards a greater contribution!

  1. Paper Towel Waste – With kids, we go through plenty of paper towels in our week and it seems never-ending. So I purchased a bunch of white cloth napkins and microfiber towels that are all re-usable and washable to completely eliminate the necessity of paper towels.
  2. Mesh Produce Bags – I have always hated going through the grocery store and piling up plastic bag after plastic bag of produce in my cart and thought, there has to be a better way to do this. Because this is where I do most of my shopping, I invested in some simple mesh produce bags that we can take with us and reuse every week!
  3. Bamboo Dish Brush – I am such a neat freak and I can’t stand when my sponge starts deteriorating or taking on a funky smell. To prevent having to replace my kitchen sponge every couple of weeks, I bought a sustainable dish brush made out of bamboo wood and plant fiber bristles. Score!

Stay tuned for more as I am working towards simplifying our lives and reducing our impact on the environment – going green is so much fun!
cleaning

2 thoughts on “3 Simple Changes for Zero Waste Living

  1. Pingback: Eco-Tip Tuesday: Use Cloth Napkins | Katherine Smith, Eco-Lifestyle Consulting

  2. Pingback: Happy 5th Birthday, Blog! | Katherine Smith, a place of passion & love

Leave a Reply

