Holistic Healthcare: Essential Oils

“Nature patiently waits and we have only to turn back to her to find relief from our suffering.”
–- Dr. Bach

Kids are full of germs. I have learned that there’s no getting around this fact. I have never been sick more often than I have since my kids were born. My daughter has been recently diagnosed with febrile seizures and has had her fair share of head colds and a couple of ear infections in the past 2 years. As a society, we automatically jump to Motrin, Tylenol and anti-biotics at the first sign of a runny nose. Please don’t get me wrong – I believe there is a place for doctors and medicine but I also know how extremely powerful and healing nature can be. All of this has led me to a new place: I have recently been converted into an oil user – as in, essential oils.

An Essential Alternative

63a4ed8ac6b63f518c5ed6c46c63af25An essential oil is “a concentrated hydrophobic liquid containing volatile aroma compounds from plants.”  They are natural aromatic compounds found in the seeds, bark, stems, roots, flowers, and other parts of plants. They can be used a single oil at a time or in complex blends depending on the desired benefit. Essential oils have been used medicinally in history and can provide parents a holistic approach to defending against germs and cooties BEFORE it turns into something major.

I have found that using essential oils has armed me with the tools to prevent middle-of-the-night ER visits, high medical bills and unnecessary medicines…and they are natural, safe solutions for my kids! I personally prefer doTERRA oils, although there are plenty of brands out there.  Just last week, both of my children had runny, stuffy noses. I put a drop of peppermint oil on both of their feet 3 times a day for two days and they were both cleared up and breathing easy. Or this past weekend, my daughter had skipped her nap and was a bear to be around. A drop of lavender on her feet mixed with outdoor play calmed her down and our evening went better than I could have expected.

Using the Oils

Essential oils are usually administered by one of three methods: diffused aromatically, applied topically, or taken internally as dietary supplements. I have only used my oils in a topical manner and if I am using them topically somewhere other than their feet, I like to mix the oil with a drop of coconut oil. At first I was so nervous to even use oils on my kids but it really is a simple, easy way to help your kids get past the latest bug going around.  My favorites are lemon, lavender and peppermint – all have diverse uses and smell really great – must-haves for any medicine cabinet!

I am by no means trying to act as a doctor or replace medical care. But there is comfort in knowing that a drop of oil here and there can naturally and safely fight bacteria, germs or help create a more peaceful, relaxed mood. There is a reason oils have been used for centuries and are a common part of aromatherapy: they really do work!

2 thoughts on “Holistic Healthcare: Essential Oils

  1. Pingback: Adding some Balance to our home | a simple life

  2. Pingback: Happy 5th Birthday, Blog! | Katherine Smith, a place of passion & love

Leave a Reply

