Annie Leibovitz: Master Set

“Things happen all the time that are unexpected, uncontrolled,  even magical. The work prepares you for that moment. Suddenly the clouds roll in and the soft light you longed for appears.”  –-Annie Leibovitz

This weekend has been so special for me! My twin sister and mother threw me a mini baby shower last night, a “Mama’s Night In” get-together. We had appetizers, desserts and drinks and it was the perfectly relaxing evening with my closest friends and family!

Today, my husband planned an entire “date day” surprise for me, sans our daughter. We headed down to Columbus and ended up on Ohio State’s campus at the Wexner Center for the Arts, where there was a special photography exhibit on display from Annie Leibovitz – my absolute favorite portraiture photographer! In 2009, she put together 156 of her most defining photographs from her prolific 40-year career and called the exhibit “Master Set” and it is currently at the Wexner Center until December 22nd.

It was absolutely incredible to see these works up-close and in person and I drew so much inspiration from her amazing works, browsing through these famous, real moments she so soulfully captured. It was one of the BEST surprises and I just couldn’t believe how thoughtful my husband’s date day was! He had been planning this day for months and was just so excited to spend the day with me.

There were no cameras allowed in the galleries but I was able to get a few shots in the lobby with my phone camera before we toured the art center…

WCA_Annie2WCA_Annie3WCA_Annie4

Leave a Reply

