Oven-Roasted Brussel Sprouts

In honor of Vegetarian Awareness Month, I am venturing out and trying new vegetables that I’ve never cooked with so last night was my first stab at brussel sprouts. Growing up, it wasn’t a food that my parents ever made and I was curious about this tiny cabbage-like vegetable. I know brussel sprouts are one of the most nutritious vegetables you can eat and are exceptionally rich in protein, dietary fiber, vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants so I was excited to give them a chance. Not sure if my husband would eat them, I found a delicious recipe for roasting them in the oven and decided to give it a try.

I think I over-cooked them by about 5 minutes so they were crispier on the outside, which I actually didn’t mind. The taste of the sprouts are a bit bitter and took a while to get use to but I really enjoyed this recipe – the honey and balsamic vinegar added the perfect blend of sweet and tangy.  One downfall of cooking them was my whole house smelled like cabbage all night and even this morning. While my husband loved the flavor of cooking, he HATED the actual brussel sprouts and made me promise to never make them again. Regardless of his opinion, if you are brussel sprout-lover, this is a great recipe to try!

Ingredients:

  • 1 lbs brussels sprouts, halved
  • 3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil, divided
  • ¾ teaspoon kosher salt
  • ½ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon honey

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees and line a baking sheet with aluminum foil.
  2. In a large bowl, toss brussels sprouts with 2 tablespoons olive oil, kosher salt and pepper.
  3. Transfer the brussels sprouts to baking sheet and roast, stirring occasionally to ensure even browning, until tender and caramelized, about 20 minutes.
  4. Place brussels sprouts back in bowl. Add remaining tablespoon olive oil, balsamic vinegar and honey and toss to coat evenly.
  5. Taste and adjust seasoning if necessary, then serve.

Leave a Reply

