Veggie Prima Chili

Chili has always been my favorite cool-weather meal (with corn bread!) and I found a great vegetarian recipe last year that is so incredibly easy to make on a busy evening because there is literally zero prep work. Bonus: the left-overs are just as great! While I am not a spicy food fan, I do love my chili spicy, so I usually use medium salsa for this recipe to add some kick to it.

When I think of chili, I typically think of ground meat and kidney beans, but the great thing about this recipe is I never miss the meat and I love all the chunky vegetables using salsa adds to recipe. Ideally, this would be best when everything is in season during the summer, but it’s hard to eat soups and stews on a sweltering hot day, so I just look for the healthiest organic ingredients I can find!

Ingredients:

  1. 32 oz. of chunky salsa (whatever spicy level you prefer)
  2. 1 pk. of taco seasoning (low sodium)
  3. 4 oz. of sliced green chiles
  4. 1 small onion, chopped
  5. 1 cup of water
  6. 30 oz. of your bean-of-choice (black, pinto or kidney – I prefer black beans myself) – if you are using canned beans, drain and rinse beans

Cooking Directions:

In a large skillet, cook the onion until browning and stir in remaining ingredients: salsa, beans, water, chiles and seasoning mix. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low and cover the skillet. Cook on low, stirring occasionally for 20-25 minutes. Garnish as desired.

Garnish Suggestions: diced jalapeños, shredded mild cheddar cheese or Monterey Jack cheese, diced tomatoes, sliced ripe olives, sliced green onions, sour cream, chopped onion

Serving: Makes 6 servings.

3 thoughts on “Veggie Prima Chili

  1. I can’t wait to try this! I’m always cooking black beans with salsa, but I love that you can add a few simple ingredients and have a whole new dish!

  2. Pingback: October: Let’s Rock the Veggies! | a simple life

Leave a Reply

