living in a cave

Right now, my living room is a dark cranberry color on the walls and because it’s such a bold, beautiful color,  I do get compliments on the paint choice when someone comes over for the first time.  My biggest issue with the color is this: although I have 9 ft. ceilings, I feel like with black furniture, I’m living in dark cave. Granted, 2 of 3 of my lamps have recently broken, so I have one dinky table lamp lighting the entire living space, which doesn’t help the situation.

I’m fighting the urge to paint the cranberry walls because I know what a pain in the butt covering all that red will be. And my decor is very specific, so I want to pick a color that allows me to keep the majority of my pieces (with a few additions!) without spending a ton of money. I also really love my most of the things in my living room, they fit my personality and style – I just want to lighten the room up and give it a more airy feeling.

My living room opens right into my kitchen, which is a gold color. So black, red and gold colors (and various patterns) fill this space. I think I figured out a new paint color that I can use on my dark walls – I’m considering a lighter gray color that will offer a neutral, light backdrop. The good thing about a gray color is I already mix silver & gold in the room in little ways, so it’ll play off that.

Although this computer color is not as exact as a paint chip – thoughts?

Love this example of mixing these colors from Decor Pad

And this cool color combination from The Lennox

2 thoughts on “living in a cave

  1. Gray walls are my absolute favorite, so I think this is a fabulous idea! They are sleek and modern and your colorful accessories will pop!

    There are so many different shades and each picks up different colors. Maybe paint a wooden board with you color choices so you can see what goes with all your reds, yellow kitchen and your carpet. I know each of mine looked much different when painted on the wall. In the can it just all looks gray!

  2. Thanks friend! I know I want to avoid a gray that has blueish-purple undertones because it’ll clash with the black furniture. That’s a great idea to test out the colors – the “temperature” of a particular shade—cool or warm—can evoke very different feelings and have an enormous impact on the mood of a room! It’ll be a fun project to tackle over the next 8 weeks 🙂

Leave a Reply

