a taste of summer

By the time Sunday evening comes, I barely have time  to get caught up on the busy weekend, let alone get ahead on the week. Having today off has been glorious. It’s been a catch-up on life day: my house is clean, bills paid, laundry done, groceries bought, car vacuumed & yard work complete. And I actually have time to do one of my favorite things – cook!

I’m trying a new recipe tonight for a chicken dish because I’m growing basil like crazy in my garden and I needed to use it up before it starts going bad so I found a simple basil lemon chicken recipe. The chicken was so easy to make, it took 5 minutes of prep time and just grilling it. It was the perfect amount of lemony-zest flavor and I’d recommend this to anyone who’s looking for a light, summery meal!

Ingredients:
4 boneless chicken breast halves
2 tbsp chopped basil
1 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp spicy mustard
1 lemon juiced
1 dash of salt
1 dash of pepper

Directions:

In a food storage bag, combine chicken, basil, olive oil, mustard, lemon, salt and pepper. Seal and refrigerate for 2-4 hours. Grill for 5-7 minutes on each side.

Leave a Reply

