social injustices start in the womb

“Social injustices start in the womb.”

This crazy world we live in is full of injustices, wrongs, horrible horrible things, and it’s hard to be an advocate for every single thing I believe in. Like many other people, I want this world to be a better place: where people love, where people spread peace, where people imitate Christ and it’s hard to know where to even start. Every once in a while I come across something that sparks my interest and I find myself growing attached to the subject matter.

Anyone who knows me well knows my pro-life stance is an iron-clad topic that usually gets me all heated up and bent out of shape. I get into those offensive moods that people often get into when they talk about politics or the war and I just can’t seem to help myself when in come to the subject of life, because to me, it’s simply not a debatable topic. It’s one of those areas, like murder or rape, that it IS black and white, right vs. wrong. It blows my mind to even try to conceive how people can actually think the way they do. It’s NOT a matter of when a baby can survive on it’s own or at what point can it feel pain. Life is not negotiable. Life is not a choice. Life cannot be comprised. If we comprise on life, what do we have left in this world?

The miracle of life is the purest of miracles God has given us the privilege to experience. From the moment of conception, you have the most precious, innocent baby depending on you and you alone for life. Your entire life, your entire body surrounds this helpless, beautiful human and your every thought is consumed by their existence. Everything changes. Your body is changing, adapting. The way you sleep, the way you eat, the way you move, the way you ARE – changes. Your world is fully encompassed by someone you’ve never met. A new soul is created by God at the very moment of conception, the purest and whitest of souls. It is yours to protect and yours to love.

It’s hard to know what to do to make any difference in such a large, national injustice. For the past 3 years I’ve been more and more involved with our Pro-Life ministry at church . We hold prayer services for people on death-row, we have educational speakers on human trafficking, we raise money for the local family planning services, we write postcards and letters to our US Congressmen, we walk in D.C. during Right to Life week. I know it doesn’t seem significant when fighting a large monster like Satan, and it’s hard to feel like it is making any impact, but even the small acts are slowly building and making a difference. I encourage you to find something you are passionate about and stand up for it, speak out about it. This world won’t get any better by people keeping their mouths shut. We need to take action to make any difference. Stand up, speak out!

One thought on “social injustices start in the womb

  1. Pingback: It seems to me clear as daylight that abortion should be a crime. | Katherine Smith, Eco-Lifestyle Consulting

Leave a Reply

